Bio

John made his playwriting debut in December 2105 with the legal drama Jeremiah 5:1. The play was performed at the Peter J. Sharp Theater at Playwrights Horizons in NYC and starred Obie, Drama Desk and Lucille Lortel award winner David Morse, Oscar winner Kathleen Turner, SAG nominee Sarita Choudhary, and American Movie Award winner Stelio Savante.

In February 2017, the play was presented once again (re-titled American Dream) with the same cast. Obie Award winner Tamara Tunie replaced Kathleen Turner in the role of “Judge Whitkey.”  American Dream was named as top ten finalist for the Paul Newman/Joanne Woodward award at Bloomington Playwrights for drama and was a semi-finalist for the Eugene O’Neil Playwrights Conference and the Barrington Stage Burman new play award.

John’s latest play, Lieutenants Upon The Earth, tells the story of Miranda Rights in the US. This two man show is currently receiving bookings to perform at Montclair State University, John Jay School of Criminal Justice, New Jersey City University and more. John’s original graphic novels,  Lifedeath and Foundlings (with Emma Kubert)  both received  major announcements in The Hollywood Reporter, Bleeding Cool, Newsarama and many others.

John is currently developing several projects for TV/Film development. Announcements coming soon!

Latest News

Hollywood Reporter Features 'Foundlings'
Hollywood Reporter Features 'Foundlings' . . .
BroadwayWorld Announcement for Lieutenants Upon the Earth
BroadwayWorld Announcement for Lieutenants Upon the Earth . . .
Emmy-Winning Producer Jared Safier Joins Graphic Novel Project LIFEDEATH
Emmy-Winning Producer Jared Safier Joins Graphic Novel Proje . . .

Plays

 
Synopsis

Lieutenants upon the earth is a 90 minute, two-man stage play, divided into three acts, spanning nearly fifty years. The play is based on the history of Miranda Rights in the United States and illuminates why these rights are every bit as important today as when they were first issued in a landmark 1966 Supreme Court case. Lieutenants Upon the Earth is currently being performed at universities, law schools, bar association events and performing arts centers across the US.​​

Learn more at www.LUTEplay.com

Synopsis

American Dream, a legal drama inspired, in part, by actual events, examines how our legal system was threatened as a result of the war on terror. Set in August 2002, amid the post 9/11 hysteria that gripped our nation, American Dream reveals how some who were sworn to protect our laws rose up to challenge those who would subvert our constitution...

Synopsis

Tulsa is based on the actual events that led to the worst race riot in United States' history.  In 1921, Tulsa, Oklahoma is the most affluent black community in America.  A 19 year old black shoeshine boy is wrongly accused of trying to rape a white girl in an elevator. Sheriff Bill McCullogh and his deputies...

Synopsis

It is ten years since President Lincoln’s death. After a mock trial to determine the former first lady’s insanity, Mary Lincoln is institutionalized to an insane asylum by her own son, Robert Lincoln, ostensibly ‘for her own good’. Mary’s incarceration grants Robert full control over the family’s significant finances, and removes Mary from the public eye as Robert is being groomed...

Graphic Novels

 
Synopsis

In the year 2211, Dr. Emil Heydrich, a fugitive scientist on Mars, discovers that humans invented the afterlife long before man existed on Earth. The ‘afterlife matrix’ is an ancient computer program, an uploading device to preserve human consciousness. After many millennia, that matrix grew to sentience and now, like anything that lives, the afterlife matrix is dying...

Synopsis

Foundlings is a brand new dystopian young adult comic book series co-created by John Stanisci (Batman Beyond) and Emma Kubert (Inkblot, Image Comics) in the vein of Stranger Things and The Goonies, tackling issues of diversability and empowerment.The series follows a group of children cast aside by their families and society…until they were possibly the only ones capable of saving it...

Connect

© 2017 by John Stanisci